Getting true rest

Hi everyone,

Jesus says in Matthew 11:28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”

Mat11-28wallpaper-1

Many people go on through life burdened and weary due to many things like the economy, wars, work and what not. Some are burdened by their lifestyles of sin and know their time’s up and very soon the line will end.

The good news is that Christ gives you true rest in the midst of all of life’s turmoils if you come to him in faith. He wants us to take his yoke and learn from him for he is gentle and humble.

Rest for one’s soul is very important. Let me make it clear, have all the latest comforts that are physically available but when the time to die comes all these become irrelevant, all you will need to be concerned is whether you will get rest for your soul. You don’t need to wait to come to death bed to start thinking about rest for one’s soul. You can do it today.

The rest that I speak of comes from God alone, for it is written in Psalm 127:  1-2 “Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it labor in vain. Unless the Lord guards the city, the guard keeps watch in vain. It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives sleep to his beloved.”

There are people who are extremely wealthy but equally anxious because they have reduced themselves to machines devoted to making money but at the end of the day they feel insecure due to robbers and fraudsters who want to steal their money.  That’s why its vital that you get true rest for God which He himself takes care of you.

It takes courage to say that you need help, help from God I mean. It’s not something that can be earned by your works, you need to leave your achievements at the doorstep and simply pray unto Christ.

Philippians 4: 6-7 “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with  thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which  surpasses all comprehension, shall guard your hearts and your minds in Christ  Jesus.”

9

Christ speaks in the Gospel “Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives, do I give to you.  Let not your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.” John 14:27. This is relevant even today. Its all yours to claim if you believe.

Prayer: Dear Lord Jesus I come to you as I am. Take away all darkness and sin from my life. Give me your rest and protection. Guide me and lead me. Be around me as I walk, sit, play and work through life. Even though the world is not at peace, I pray that you give me your peace both in the physical and eternal sense. Reveal to me more of your grace so that I keep living in the true rest that comes from you alone. Amen.

Posted on September 18, 2013, in Rest. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

