Avoiding anxiety through prayer

9

Anxiety is not a good thing to have in life. It has been linked to clinical depression as well. Avoiding anxiety through prayer is a very important. There are those who waste a lot of time and energy by being anxious.

Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down, but a good word makes him glad. (Proverbs 12:25)

I’d say to them fight back anxiety through prayer. Better still avoid anxiety through prayer.

Philippians 4:6-7 says that, Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Jesus has given us his wisdom about dealing with anxiety. He spoke in Matthew 6:25-34:

Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. …

Doesn’t that tell a lot about anxiety? The Lord himself had to speak on this because he knew what was troubling men, women and children over the ages. He gave us the Gospel which gives hope and part of this hope is to have true peace and not anxiety in this life.

Don’t live in fear of terrorists or murderers and not even the Devil. Cast your anxiety over to the Lord instead.  Here a few scriptures that you can reflect over so that you can tackle anxiety:

1 Peter 5:7 says, Casting all your anxieties on him [Christ], because he cares for you.

Psalm 34:4 says that, I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.

Psalm 55:22-23 says that, Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved. But you, O God, will cast them down into the pit of destruction; men of blood and treachery shall not live out half their days. But I will trust in you.

Psalm 27:1-14 says that,  The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? When evildoers assail me to eat up my flesh, my adversaries and foes, it is they who stumble and fall. Though an army encamp against me, my heart shall not fear; though war arise against me, yet I will be confident. One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to inquire in his temple. For he will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent; he will lift me high upon a rock. …

Keep reflecting on these scriptures and then pray to the Lord Jesus to take away your anxiety. Pray in faith and keep praying till the anxiety goes away!

Posted on September 25, 2013, in Practical living, Prayer tips. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

