9 tips to rise up early and pray

While studying the example of Jesus, one thing I’ve noticed about his prayer style. For now I want to speak about his rising early in the morning to pray and do God will. For instance:

-And in the morning, rising up a great while before day, he went out, and departed into a solitary place, and there prayed. (Mark 1:35)

-And all the people came early in the morning to him in the temple, for to hear him. (Luke 21:38)

-And early in the morning he came again into the temple, and all the people came unto him; and he sat down, and taught them. (John 8:2)

We are called to imitate the Lord. Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children (Ephesians 5:1).  Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect (Matthew 5:8).

Rising up fairly early does help with health, stops laziness and saves a lot of time for the day too.  If Jesus got up in the morning early why not we?  You can achieve a lot. You say you don’t have time for God but if you cut down on the extra sleep you’ll get more time for him.

-My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up. (Psalms 5:3)

-But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning: for thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble. (Psalms 59:16)

-O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is; (Psalms 63:1)

-But unto thee have I cried, O LORD; and in the morning shall my prayer prevent thee. (Psalms 88:13)

-With my soul have I desired thee in the night; yea, with my spirit within me will I seek thee early: for when thy judgments are in the earth, the inhabitants of the world will learn righteousness. (Isaiah 26:9)

Excess sleep is harmful. People go late to school, college and work all because they got up late. How long wilt thou sleep, O sluggard? when wilt thou arise out of thy sleep? Yet a little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to sleep: So shall thy poverty come as one that travelleth, and thy want as an armed man. (Proverbs 6:9-11)

“Okay, but how do we get the time to get up early?”. I’d suppose this is a big question.  Just a few tips to help:

1.Don’t eat heavily for dinner.

2.Drink sufficient water during the day.

3.A loud alarm. But keep it in such a way that you have to stand up or walk about to get it turned off.

4.If you’re on medication as in sick don’t sleep late like 1am instead try to sleep much early 10pm or  10.30pm.

5.Don’t sleep late even if your health is very normal.

6.Avoid watching late night TV or late night calls.

7.No late night outings or partying indiscriminately or frequently.

8.Avoid sleeping with anger, bitterness or unforgiveness.

9.Pray to God for this and he’ll give you the desire of your heart.

 

Posted on September 29, 2013, in Prayer tips. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

