Twenty questions to ask oneself when doing good for others

Being able to introspect your own thoughts is vital to your existence and well-being. Without knowing your feelings or logic, you might otherwise be working aimlessly. Going aimlessly in life is not a good thing as you may miss out on your way.

Keep a close watch on yourself and on the teaching. Persist in this, for by so doing you will save both yourself and your hearers (1 Timothy 4:16)

Examine yourselves, to see whether you are in the faith. Test yourselves. Or do you not realize this about yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in you?—unless indeed you fail to meet the test! (2 Corinthians 13:5)

When doing good for others you need to question yourself within. It’s all between yourself. So be honest with yourself. You can do this as per your convenience but its best done daily. Avoid doing this legalistically but do it freely as that’s where the maximum benefit lies.

You might not actually need to ask yourself, all of them daily but it in the beginning please go through them all. Later you might realize you need only about five to ten. It’s all about doing right rather than making this a guilt it. No way are these questions to induce guilt but in fact these are to encourage you to be on the right track. So now let’s get acquainted with the questions when doing good for others:

  1. Does it benefit the souls of those I help?
  2. Does it contribute to the physical well-being of others?
  3. Do I feel pretentious when doing good?
  4. Do I communicate Christ in my actions?
  5. Is the love of Jesus there in me?
  6. Am I working out of love and respect or out of compulsion?
  7. Am I looking for praises of men or just want to do good because its good?
  8. Does fear of judgement form the basis of my motivation to do good?
  9. Do I balance my family life and my good works?
  10. Am I doing good works to make up for my sins or do I hold on to the fact that Jesus forgives freely those who repent and come to him?
  11. Am I trying to earn the grace of God by doing good works or am I aware that the grace of God can only be given by him but never earned by us?
  12. Am I walking in line with the teachings of the Gospel or going contrary to it?
  13. Is it all about me or is it about glorifying God?
  14. Where am I going long-term with my good works?
  15. Do my good works make me reduce my focus on praying?
  16. What is my motivation when I tell others about my good works?
  17. Do I feel like giving up in face of challenges? If yes, then why?
  18. Can I try a new good work that I never did earlier?
  19. Can I improvise on the good works that I’m already doing?
  20. Can I inspire others to do good works?

 

Related links:

 

Posted on October 16, 2014, in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

