The Lord is my Portion

The Lord is my Portion, saith my soul
Thus shall I hope in Him
A Treasure in Heaven reserved for me
An exchange that He made for my sin
I hope in Him, I hope in Him
For He is my Goodly Portion
I hope in Him, I hope in Him
For He is my Goodly Portion

The Lord hath promised an inheritance
And I shall receive it one day
An eternal, unfading legacy
Which can never be taken away
I hope in Him, I hope in Him
For He is my Goodly Portion
I hope in Him, I hope in Him
For He is my Goodly Portion

His grace has been gloriously manifest
Through salvation He wrought at the cross
And all that I once found my boasting in
I gladly regard them as loss
My hope’s in Him, my hope’s in Him
For He is my Goodly Portion
My hope’s in Him, my hope’s in Him
For He is my Goodly Portion

The power of our God hath raised Him up
Conquering both sin and death
Now by His Spirit we live in Christ
And praise Him with every breath
We’ll rise to Him, we’ll rise to Him
To attain our Goodly Portion
We’ll rise to Him, we’ll rise to Him
To attain our Goodly Portion

– Vicki Plaster Baird

Posted on February 8, 2015, in Christ, Poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

