Do not lose hope if you’re a habitual sinner (Part 1)

Someone reading this might be having an issue with habitual sin. I mean, one knows that a particular sin is bad for him and so he’s on guard against it but in a few days he again commits that sin. Now such a person wants to get out of this sin habit but keeps going back to it. I do not come to judge any habitual sinner but rather to encourage him or her to do what is right for his or her soul.

To any such person I’d say, ” Don’t lose hope if you’re a habitual sinner but keep trying to live up for the Lord”. I have a few principles from the Bible which you can use with enough faith and perseverance you could no longer be slaves to bad desires.

Be willing to leave your sins

Whoever conceals his transgressions will not prosper, but he who confesses and forsakes them will obtain mercy. (Proverbs 28:13)

Flee also youthful lusts: but follow righteousness, faith, charity, peace, with them that call on the Lord out of a pure heart. (2 Timothy 2:22)

Acknowledge and confess your sins to the Lord

I acknowledged my sin to you, and I did not cover my iniquity; I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD,” and you forgave the iniquity of my sin. Selah (Psalm 32:5)

If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us. (1 John 1:8-10)

Exercise your choice to choose life and blessings

I call heaven and earth to witness against you today, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and curse. Therefore choose life, that you and your offspring may live (Deuteronomy 30:19)

In the path of righteousness is life, and in its pathway there is no death. (Proverbs 12:28)

Be sad for your sins that you repent well

For godly grief produces a repentance that leads to salvation without regret, whereas worldly grief produces death. (2 Corinthians 7:10)

You need to believe in Christ for your justification

For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved. For the Scripture says, “Everyone who believes in him will not be put to shame.” (Romans 10:10-11)

Open your heart to Jesus once again

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me. (Revelation 3:20)

Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. (John 14:23)

Love God more that you follow him better

Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ has been born of God, and everyone who loves the Father loves whoever has been born of him. By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love God and obey his commandments. For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome. For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith. Who is it that overcomes the world except the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God? (1 John 5: 1-5)

Desire to be a slave no more as Christ wants you to be free

For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery. (Galatians 5:1)

Even if it’s the Nth time you sinned you still crucify the flesh

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. (Galatians 5:22-24)

Posted on March 30, 2015, in Repentance, Salvation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. prophecynewsandviews

    I got your comment and I could not comment back but here is what I wrote.
    Glory to the Most High, I wanted to tell you to warn you there are so many devices of the enemy out there that is causing a division and it is ruining people . I make mistakes in my postings at times too when the Lord make me aware I take them down . It is not about pleasing anyone but God . I hope I did not make you feel bad I always try to tell

    Like

  2. prophecynewsandviews

    ( cont )the truth to help the entire body of Christ

    Like

  1. Pingback: The Lord is your Father (Reflection) | Disciples of hope

Leave a Reply

