Who’s mantle do you carry?

Past servants of the Lord have left Mantles for us to take up and continue.

A great example of a spiritual mantle which passed from one person to another is Elijah and Elisha.

Elijah was a prophet in Israel and Elisha was his disciple. Elisha studied under him, earnestly desiring to operate the way he did. He realized that the time was drawing near when Elijah would leave the earth. Elijah also knew the time was soon and repeatedly told Elisha to depart from him. Instead, Elisha pressed in closer and refused to leave him.

Before Elijah was translated into heaven, he said; “‘Ask what I shall do for you before I am taken from you.’ And Elisha said, ‘Please, let a double portion of your spirit be upon me.'” (2 Kings 2:9) It was Elijah’s mantle which proved whether or not Elisha received his request.

Elijah told him; “‘You have asked a hard thing. Nevertheless, if you see me when I am taken from you, it shall be so for you; but if not, it shall not be so.'” (Verse 10) Elisha did see Elijah leave in a chariot of fire. He then tore his own garment in two pieces and “took up the mantle of Elijah that fell from him.” (Verse 13) Thereafter, he also took up the work of his spiritual father and operated in his anointing.

Remember that Elisha asked for a double portion? And so it was. The Bible records twice as many miracles for Elisha as are recorded under Elijah’s ministry. Do spiritual mantles have a modern application? Can a spiritual mantle be passed today from one person to the next or one generation to the next?

Yes and I would say in some cases you don’t need to wait till the actual passing away of your spiritual superior.

Numbers 27:18-23 confirms this:

And the Lord said to Moses, “Take Joshua the son of Nun, a man in whom is the spirit, and lay your hand upon him;  cause him to stand before Elea′zar the priest and all the congregation, and you shall commission him in their sight. You shall invest him with some of your authority, that all the congregation of the people of Israel may obey. And he shall stand before Elea′zar the priest, who shall inquire for him by the judgment of the Urim before the Lord; at his word they shall go out, and at his word they shall come in, both he and all the people of Israel with him, the whole congregation.” And Moses did as the Lord commanded him; he took Joshua and caused him to stand before Elea′zar the priest and the whole congregation, and he laid his hands upon him, and commissioned him as the Lord directed through Moses.

Also if you read Timothy 1:1–7, the laying of hands by the anointed of God makes you a partaker of the Divine work that God is equipping you for, as given below:

This letter is from Paul, chosen by the will of God to be an apostle of Christ Jesus. I have been sent out to tell others about the life he has promised through faith in Christ Jesus.I am writing to Timothy, my dear son.

May God the Father and Christ Jesus our Lord give you grace, mercy, and peace.

Timothy, I thank God for you—the God I serve with a clear conscience, just as my ancestors did. Night and day I constantly remember you in my prayers. I long to see you again, for I remember your tears as we parted. And I will be filled with joy when we are together again.
I remember your genuine faith, for you share the faith that first filled your grandmother Lois and your mother, Eunice. And I know that same faith continues strong in you. 

This is why I remind you to fan into flames the spiritual gift God gave you when I laid my hands on you. For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.

Just as the above verses speak of how God has been passing on the mantles through his servants and apostles, I exort you to do your due diligence. And then prayerfully take the mantle that God’s kingdom will offer you.

Christ be with you!

Posted on May 14, 2022, in Discernment, Prophecy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.